The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

About
Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them–until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

My Thoughts

I’m going to be honest- I didn’t like this book as much as I hoped I would. I read it because Tumblr and other blogs I follow were just praising these boys and how awesome they are. I mean, the story is interesting but man, it was HARD for me to read this book. I just didn’t get that flow ever like I do when I seriously like a book. I think all the hype made it more disappointing than anything. I was certain I would love it as much as everyone else but nope. It’s just okay to me.

The part that I found most intriguing was Blue’s family. Her family is full of seers (fortune tellers) except for Blue. She makes their energies ‘more’. The Raven Boys are an interesting bunch for the reason, you would never really put them together because they are completely different in every way. Gansey is rich and has more money than he knows what to do with- he’s also the one Blue is supposed to kiss and then he dies because he’s her ‘true love’. Ronan is the bad boy who doesn’t give a damn about anything or anyone. Adam is the one who just doesn’t fit- he’s poor, white trash whose father is a drunk and beats him. And then there’s Noah- a ghost. It’s surprising how they don’t realize this. He’s been dead for 7 years. 7. years. It’s crazy not to realize that they guy living with you is dead- a ghost. That blew my mind.

The whole plot is to find the ghost road so Gansey can have powers that no man should have. In trying to find this, it becomes a race against one of their teachers who wants the same thing, and is the one who murdered Noah all those years ago. It’s with Blue’s help that they are able to access the powers and understand what they need to do. Eventually, Adam runs off and opens the ghost road himself gaining all the power for himself.

I think I didn’t like it because a lot of the story is slow and there’s SO much detail about everything and everyone that I just kept thinking about other things, and wanting to read other books. It took me FOREVER to read this book. I liked Maggie Stiefvater’s other series but this one I just could not get into like others who reviewed have.

3 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

