Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty

I read this for a book club I joined in my neighborhood. I made the mistake of reading book reviews about the book before actually reading it. I usually don’t do that because I like to just give books a chance. Reading the reviews gave me a sour taste in my mouth right away so it took me FOREVER to read this book.

About

Despite their differences, Erika and Clementine have been best friends since they were children. So when Erika needs help, Clementine should be the obvious person to turn to. Or so you’d think.

For Clementine, as a mother of a two desperately trying to practise for the audition of a lifetime, the last thing she needs is Erika asking for something, again.

But the barbecue should be the perfect way to forget their problems for a while. Especially when their hosts, Vid and Tiffany, are only too happy to distract them.

Which is how it all spirals out of control…

My Thoughts
Like I said, it took me forever to read this book because I read reviews beforehand.

That being said…

I liked this book. It definitely wasn’t what I was expecting. The ‘accident’ wasn’t what I thought the whole book was leading up to at all. The entire book I was thinking that Tiffany and Sam, and Clementine and Vid had all had affairs together. But nope. Something much worse. I think as a mother, thinking about this situation made my heart hurt so bad. Because I would be like Clementine in that situation. I wouldn’t know what to do. I would freeze. The ‘accident’ for those of you wondering, and this is such a spoiler, if you plan on reading the book ever, is that the little girl, Ruby, falls into the fountain at Tiffany and Vid’s house and drowns.

You may wonder how the summary on the back of book has anything to do with what happened at the bbq. Well, the main theme of the book is friendship. It’s about how Clementine and Erika have been friends for so long. How they’re the best of friends. But not really. Clementine hates Erika, despises her. The only reason they are even friends is because of Clementine’s mother. Erika comes from a bad home life. Her mother’s a hoarder. So Erika, to fix it in her world, is a very straight and narrow type of person. Everything in it’s place, and a place for everything. She has such a longing for a mother (a good, loving mother) that she clamps on to Pat (Clementine’s mom) for that relationship. The whole book is about how Clementine has always resented their friendship because it’s been forced upon her, but she has never, ever done anything about it. So her complaining is aggravating.

I feel for Erika because she can’t help what she’s become. And you sympathize with her because you can’t imagine what it’s like to have a mother like that, to have no one until someone forces their daughter to befriend you. It’s sad. The ENTIRE STORY is depressing.

It’s full of drama. It’s full of annoying drama. But, it’s believable drama. Seriously, this shit could definitely happen to people in real life. And you PTL that it’s not in your life.

Would I recommend this book? Maybe. Once you get into the guts of the book, it’s good. It grabs you. But the first few chapters makes you want to do anything else but read it. So if you can wait it out, read this book.

3 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

