The Magnolia Story by Chip and Joanna Gaines

I’ve always been a fan of, Fixer Upper. Ever since it came on, I just can’t get enough of Chip and Joanna. When I saw they wrote a book, I didn’t even have to think, I put that book on hold- I was #10 on hold, and the library only had 1 book. Lifetime. Eternity. I waited what seemed like forever but really it’s more like maybe 2 months or so. Why didn’t I buy it? Well, we’re in the process of moving and buying MORE books probably would have given my husband a stroke. I have so many books. Boxes and boxes of books, plus books shoved in corners and nooks and crannies, that buying another book, well, I just didn’t my husband to lose his mind. I’m such a thoughtful wife.

So anyways…I get the book.

And I read this book, this beautiful, lovely book, in 2 days. I probably could’ve read it in one sitting but, you know, life and kids.

Joanna mostly tells their story, with Chip putting his two cents in, every now and then. She tells you their story. And it’s such a good one. You just can’t make that kind of life up. Their beginnings, make you love them and respect them even more. It surprised me to learn that Joanna had no background at all in any sort of decorating. It just came natural to her. Yes, she reworked things and learned along the way- but have you seen their show?- it’s not really something just anyone can do. Decorating a house, making it someone’s home takes talent and love and just, that something, that not every person has.

And Chip. What can you say about that man lol He’s so great. Hearing his story, how he’s a good mix of cowboy and good ole boy- just makes you ‘see’ him. And his faith, makes you truly respect and adore him.

Chip and Joanna are some of the best people. The good people. We need more people like them in this world, especially nowadays. I honestly can’t tell you just how amazing this book is. I cried and laughed every chapter. Every. Chapter. Let that sink in for a moment. I cried AND laughed. They just touch you so much with their story. You fall in love with them. Their story of being in so much debt they didn’t know if they would be able to feed their kids or pay bills, is one that many can relate to. But they made it. Their faith in God helped them. Their faith is strong and you can FEEL it in their book. But, it’s not like they’re shoving it down your throat. It’s just there, in those sentences and words.

If you haven’t figured it out by now, you should READ THIS BOOK! I’m not one to read a lot of nonfiction. But, this one, is a GREAT one.

5 out of 5 stars! Go now! and watch their show too!

Leave a Reply

