Talking as Fast as I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls (and Everything in Between) by Lauren Graham

About (From Goodreads)

In her first work of nonfiction, the beloved star of Gilmore Girls and Parenthood recounts her experiences on Gilmore Girls – the first and second times – and shares stories about life, love, and working in Hollywood. This collection of essays is written in the intimate, hilarious, and down-to-earth voice that made her novel, Someday, Someday, Maybe, a New York Times best seller.
“This book contains some stories from my life: the awkward growing up years, the confusing dating years, the fulfilling working years, and what it was like to be asked to play one of my favorite characters again. You probably think I’m talking about my incredible achievement as Dolly in Hello, Dolly! as a Langley High School junior, a performance my dad called ‘you’re so much taller than the other kids.’ But no! I’m talking about Lorelai Gilmore, who, back in 2008, I wasn’t sure I’d ever see again. Also included: tales of living on a houseboat, meeting guys at awards shows, and that time I was asked to be a butt model. A hint: all three made me seasick.” Lauren Graham

My Thoughts

I chose to read this book because, 1) I love the Gilmore Girls, 2) I love Lauren Graham.

I don’t normally read nonfiction, most especially biographies and autobiographies. But I chose to start reading some just to learn more about the celebrities I love and adore.

Enter Lauren Graham’s book…

It was good. It was a good book. Mediocre. I mean, she wrote the book like she talks in Gilmore Girls- fast, all over the place, and jumping from one thing to the next without a breathe.

Was it informative? Yes. Funny? Absolutely. But I couldn’t keep up with her train of thoughts…which you know..as a reader you have the control of how fast or slow you go. But reading this book S L O W was not an option because of the flow of the way it’s written.

I would recommend this book to someone who thinks fast. Writes fast. Reads F A S T. And also a Gilmore Girls fan.

3 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

