City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare

About (Goodreads)
When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder – much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air.

It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing – not even a smear of blood – to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk.

Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

My Thoughts
I started reading this series because I’m addicted to the show. I wanted to see what the differences are between the books and the series on television. There are A LOT!

One of the one differences is that in the book Clary is 16 while in the tv series she’s 18. Which for television purposes is probably good that she’s older. But how she acts does make sense with her being so young. Another difference is her height. She’s barely 5 feet in the books. And we all can see that on tv she’s much taller. Which again isn’t surprising on t.v. Honestly, I don’t find bed too whiny or scared in the books like on tv. She’s overly annoying on television. In the books she’s age appropriate. Can you imagine having your life ripped away from you? Being told that all the myths and legends are true? She handles it like a champ I think.

Jace. Oh boy. It’s weird that he’s 17 in the book. Makes me feel awkward for writing this but whatever he’s fictional. If there’s one character that both book and tv were dead on about, it’s Jace. Goodness gracious me. Yas. Most people may say he’s a conceited,egotistical, sarcastic asshat. And to that, I’d agree 100%. But that is what makes him so gosh darn sexy. And my favorite. There’s moments that just rip your heart out because of the emotions he’s feeling. Cassandra Clare did an amazing job writing this character (and the books). Also, Dom Sherwood on the tv show is just amazingly sexy and them eyes.

This whole world of shadowhunters and down worlders is very interesting and exciting. Some have compared it to Harry Potter and even claimed that Clare stole the idea from Rowling..like it’s based off of and copied with details changed. As someone who is an avid Harry Potter fan, I disagree. This world, these characters are all Clare’s. I mean I don’t remember any witch in Harry Potter having glitter as their aura (which is what Magnus Bane glitter says to me).

Magnus Bane. I love him. He’s funny, brilliant, sexy, and badass in his own way. It’s good he’s a warlord because he’s magical. His relationship with Alec is my favorite relationship in this book. It’s so sweet and fragile. You have this hundreds year old warlock with this bow and arrow shooting, straight laced, rule following, shadowhunter. It makes me so happy. I’d also like it ssy that I’m super happy that freeform (the channel shadowhunters ison in the U.S.) cast an Asian man in this role as he’s described as an Asian man who’s good looking..Which have you seen Harry Shum jr? Yas.

I really like the bad guy. Yes. I said that. Valentine is such a BAD MAN. He’s so bad that I love to hate him. Like he’s crazy as hell and the entitlement is real with that one but for a villain, he’s awesome.

Clary is brave for going to the city of bones to try and unlock her memories. I think it shows how her character will develop over time.

5 out of 5 stars! 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Leave a Reply

